The Musée régional de l’Outaouais (MRO) is the Outaouais’ place of memory, showcasing its rich heritage, reflecting its diversity while celebrating its uniqueness, and instilling a sense of pride in all those who have put down roots in the region over the years.
Built around 1862 for Sir Richard William Scott, Fairview House is a bourgeois stone residence. The building was used as a veterinary office and residence from 1919. From 1957 until the 1980s, the estate housed only offices and laboratories. The museum moved in because the house, classified as a historic monument in 1979, is an important witness to the rich heritage of the Outaouais region.